My Rant on Coal, pt. 1

January 8, 2010

Coal. Coal is like that dirty, bum uncle of yours who always seems to give you a really good christmas gift; he’s not too great to be around, a little awkward at times, but always delivers. Now what happens when that uncle moves to Siberia and you never see him again? Gone, nothing left. An alternative would be nice. That seems to be the case of the world and petrol in the next 50 years, and America’s future generations 250 years from now and coal. Like petroleum, we would find life without coal very different. Coal-derived electricity is keeping my computer on right now, and unless you have a windmill/solar power setup, or have a nuclear plant nearby, it’s most likely keeping yours on too. The average American consumes roughly 21 lbs worth of coal everyday. That means I consume my weight in coal every week. I’m too lazy to do the math, but imagine that amount times 55 weeks. Holy bajeezus.

Processed coal: that's what your standard power plant burns to power their turbines, but we'll talk about that later.

Now, let me make it completely clear that I don’t hate coal. It’s a transition fuel type, meaning that it’ll reach it’s peak output eventually and then gradually decrease in consumption rates in America. As these rates decrease, alternative renewable resources will take off, and you know that. The experts say the same for petroleum, and in a sense, we’re going to see that hayday phenom about to unfold very soon. Go to the pump. 10% ethanol. It’s gonna go up. Hybrids. Started with the Honda Insight and the fad is now a concrete commercial and marketing practice. I promise you, my dear reader, in the next 2 decades you and I will see the introduction of home wind turbines and photovoltaics come standard on many middle class homes, and in the home improvement industry, just like hybrids creeped up on the automotive industry. I’m going to go get a sandwich. I love you my dear reader, take care of yourself. I’ll see you tomorrow where we will continue to edumacate ourselves of the world around us.

4 Responses to “My Rant on Coal, pt. 1”

  1. Adan Ghane Says:

    did you make this site yourself?

  2. theenvirokid Says:

    I sure did make this site by myself, with a little instructional input from youtubers.

  3. willowbatel Says:

    I would love to get a wind turbine. My yard is good for it too; it’s on a hill so the turbine would be just short enough to not ruin anyone’s view. I’d really love to get my hands on some solar panels. My house is a south western facing home. We get sun ALL day.

  4. playfish Says:

    although I invest the majority of of my day on the web playing online games like facebook poker or pet society, I still like to take some spare time to look through a handful of websites now and then and I’m seriously happy to report this most recent information is in truth quite good quality and extensively better than half the various other poor quality junk I read today , anyhow i’m off to have fun with a few hands of zynga poker


Leave a Reply

